Welcome Guest, Register | Login
Home About Us Programme Admission Staff Students Alumni e-Resource News Contact
 Master of Information Science |  Master/Doctor of Philosophy  


This is a professional programme that aims to:
  • develop the students’ knowledge and skills for professional careers in information technology and systems and management positions in the information industry.
  • produce graduates with generic data, information, knowledge and information technology management skills, along with specialized knowledge and skills in specified areas in the information industry
  • produce graduates with adequate versatility, innovativeness and confidence to assume leadership positions at middle to top managerial position in the information industry.
Target groups

University graduates or higher national diplomates, or equivalents who are interested in pursuing professional and managerial careers in information sciences, technology and systems..

Admission requirements

Applicants to the programme must possess any of the following minimum qualifications, or equivalents, obtained from institutions approved by Senate:
a) Second Class honours degree in any discipline;
b) Third Class in any discipline, plus an academic or professional master’s degree in any discipline
c) Higher National Diploma (HND) at Upper Credit classification.

Duration and Mode of Study

The programme will normally last for a minimum of five and a maximum of eight semesters of part-time study.

Registration Requirements

  1. Students must register for a minimum of 45 units and a maximum of 60 units of courses at the 700-level, including all compulsory and required courses.
  2. The common core compulsory courses to all areas of specialisation, totalling 24 units, are: FSC 701, IRM 702, FSC 715, IRM 717, FSC 721, FSC 724, FSC 731, FSC 736, FSC 741, FSC 755, (all 2 units each), IRM 794 (Industrial Attachment, 2 units), IRM 799 (Seminar paper, 2 units).
  3. Each area of specialisation specifies four additional compulsory courses (8 units) for the specialisation, as specified in the tables for the different areas of specialisation below.
  4. Each area of specialisation specifies three required courses (6 units) for the specialisation, as specified in the tables for the different areas of specialisation below.
  5. All other courses offered in the programme or in other graduate level programmes offered by the Centre, and not specified as common compulsory courses or as specialisation compulsory or required courses, may be taken as electives by students offering the specialisation, along with other approved elective courses from other departments, up to a maximum total of 60 units for all of compulsory, required and elective courses.

Determination of Results

  1. All courses shall be assessed on the basis of a maximum mark of 100 and the pass mark shall be 40.
  2. The CGPA system shall be used for the computation of final results, and the CGPA points shall be determined as shown in the following table


    Letter Grade

    Points Grade

    70 marks and above



    65 – 69 marks



    60 – 64 marks



    55 - 59 marks



    50 - 54 marks



    45 – 49 marks



    40 – 44 marks



    Less than 40 marks

    D (Failure)


  3. The overall CGPA for a student intending to graduate shall be calculated as the weighted average of all CGPA points obtained in all courses taken in the programme, provided that the student passes (a) all the compulsory courses (38 Units), plus (b) six (6) units of required courses with minimum 30 marks in each course.
  4. The programme is designed to equip its graduates with knowledge and skills for professional practices in different careers in the information industry only, and the Master of Information and Knowledge Management degree cannot be used to seek admission into the MPhil, MPhil/Ph.D or Ph.D programmes at the Centre                


Download Prospectus Pdf required

© 2010 ARCIS, University of Ibadan Powered by: Sedulus Solutions